• +27 11 413 2785/6

Consuming Clam Fish or Clamshell

Question

Are clams fish or clamshell halal or haram please inform in brief? 

Answer

According to our research clams fish or clamshell does  not fall in the category of fish. Below is an expert extracted from the net defining clamshell. 

Clam Fish: Despite the name, shellfish are not actually fish, but are simply water-dwelling animals. Most shellfish are low on the food chain and eat a diet composed primarily of phytoplankton and zooplankton. … Molluscs used as a food source by humans include many species of clams, mussels, oysters, winkles, and scallops. 

We as followers of the Hanafi Madhab are only permitted to consume fish from the ocean, and due to the Clamshell not falling in the category of a fish it will not be Halal/suitable for consumption by us as followers of the Hanafi Madhab. 

Checked and Approved By:

Mufti Muhammed Saeed Motara Saheb D.B.

Related Fatawa
A Non-Muslim Transporting Halaal Meat

Question I would like to know if halaal meat must be transported by a Muslim from point of slaughter till Read more

Stunning Of Animals Before Slaughter

Question 1. Is the beef from abattoirs that is slaughtered (with Tasmiyyah) using the stunning method Halaal to consume? 2. Read more

Animal Rennet

Question Is animal rennet halaal? Answer Before delving into the ruling it has to be understood that Rennet is the Read more

Printing The Name Of Allah Ta’ala On Edible Items

Question Is it possible to write words which contain Allah's names as decoration on edible items. For example,  JazakhAllahu Khairan  Read more

Using Utensils Used By Non-Muslims

Question I have an accommodation on rent . The utensils, pots and pans etc have been used by tenants of Read more

Darul Ifta - Darul Uloom Azaadville - Madrasah Arabia Islamia