• +27 11 413 2785/6

Shellac

Question

I wanted to know if the ingredient shellac is halal or not.

Answer

Our Darul Ifta’s view is that shellec is Haram.

Checked and Approved By:

Mufti Muhammed Saeed Motara Saheb D.B.

References

(الفتاوى اهلندية 5/289 دار النوادر)

Related Fatawa
A Non-Muslim Transporting Halaal Meat

Question I would like to know if halaal meat must be transported by a Muslim from point of slaughter till Read more

Stunning Of Animals Before Slaughter

Question 1. Is the beef from abattoirs that is slaughtered (with Tasmiyyah) using the stunning method Halaal to consume? 2. Read more

Animal Rennet

Question Is animal rennet halaal? Answer Before delving into the ruling it has to be understood that Rennet is the Read more

Printing The Name Of Allah Ta’ala On Edible Items

Question Is it possible to write words which contain Allah's names as decoration on edible items. For example,  JazakhAllahu Khairan  Read more

Using Utensils Used By Non-Muslims

Question I have an accommodation on rent . The utensils, pots and pans etc have been used by tenants of Read more

Darul Ifta - Darul Uloom Azaadville - Madrasah Arabia Islamia