• +27 11 413 2785/6

Using Utensils Used By Non-Muslims


I have an accommodation on rent . The utensils, pots and pans etc have been used by tenants of all faiths. They have cooked products that are Haraam to us (pork etc).

Can my family and I use these at a later date or should we dispose of them? If possible to use then is there any procedure that we should follow to make these permissible for us to use?


You are not required to dispose of the utensils in question even though it may have been used by non-Muslims.

However, before utilising the dishes you should thoroughly wash the utensils utilizing water and detergents or soap by which any remaining impurity may be removed. There isn’t any particular method as such prescribed in Shariah for washing such dishes, rather the objective is to remove every remaining impurity.

Checked and Approved By:

Mufti Muhammed Saeed Motara Saheb D.B.


قال مَُُمَّدٌ رَحَِِهُ اللََُّّ تَعَالََ وَيُكْرَهُ الَْْكْلُ وَالشُّرْبُ في أَوَانِِ الْمُشْ رِكِينَ قبل الْغَسْلِ وَمَعَ هذا لو أَكَلَ أو شَرِبَ فيها قبل الْغَسْلِ جَازَ وَلََ يَكُونُ آكِلًا وَلََ شَارِبًً حَرَامًا وَهَذَا إذَا لم يَعْلَمْ بِنَجَاسَةِ الَْْوَانِِ فَأَمَّا إذَا عَلِمَ فَأَنَّهُ لََ يَ وزُ أَنْ يَشْرَبَ وَأَْْكُلَ منها قبل الْغَسْلِ 

(الفتاوي الهندية ص 347 ج 5 )

Related Fatawa
A Non-Muslim Transporting Halaal Meat

Question I would like to know if halaal meat must be transported by a Muslim from point of slaughter till Read more

Stunning Of Animals Before Slaughter

Question 1. Is the beef from abattoirs that is slaughtered (with Tasmiyyah) using the stunning method Halaal to consume? 2. Read more

Animal Rennet

Question Is animal rennet halaal? Answer Before delving into the ruling it has to be understood that Rennet is the Read more

Printing The Name Of Allah Ta’ala On Edible Items

Question Is it possible to write words which contain Allah's names as decoration on edible items. For example,  JazakhAllahu Khairan  Read more

Gelatin Sourced From Animals Not Slaughtered In An Islamic Manner

Question Please advise if bovine gelatin sourced from cows that are slaughtered in an UN-Islamic manner considered halal. Answer Gelatin Read more

Darul Ifta - Darul Uloom Azaadville - Madrasah Arabia Islamia